Australian Bar Association announces executive for 2023-24

05 December 2023

The Australian Bar Association has announced the election of its executive team for 2023–24.

Peter Dunning KC, former Solicitor-General for Queensland, has been re-elected President of the Australian Bar Association.

Róisín Annesley KC, former President of the Victorian Bar Association, and Michael Izzo SC, Junior Vice-President of the NSW Bar Association, have been elected Vice-Presidents, marking a second term for Róisín Annesley KC. Andrew Muller SC, former President of the ACT Bar Association, has been re-elected as Treasurer.

Ian Robertson SC of the South Australian Bar Association will continue as Chair of the Advocacy Training Council.

At a special general meeting held with the AGM it was resolved to amend the ABA Constitution to inter alia create a position of Chair of Conferences. Sam Hay KC, former President of the Victorian Bar was elected to this new role. The updated ABA Constitution will soon be published on the ABA website.

Peter Dunning KC said, “I am deeply honoured to be re-elected to serve a second term as President of the ABA.

I would like to thank Dominic Toomey SC for his service as Vice-President of the ABA from 2022-23, and wish him well in his tenure as Vice-President of the NSW Bar. I also wish to thank Róisín Annesley KC for her support and service to the ABA over the past term, along with the rest of the Executive. I also thank the CEO of the ABA, Greg Tolhurst, the CFO, Kelsey Rissman, and the executive assistant, Liz Barr.

I also thank Gabrielle Bashir SC and Duncan McConnel SC, whose terms on the ABA Council have come to an end. Their contributions to the ABA were invaluable.”

The non-executive members of the ABA Council for 2023-24 are:

Ruth Higgins SC (President, NSW Bar Association)
Mary Chalmers SC (President, NT Bar Association)
Marie Shaw KC (President, South Australian Bar Association)
Brahma Dharmananda SC (President, WA Bar Association)
Tom Cox (President, Tasmanian Bar Association)
Damien O’Brien KC (President, Bar Association of Queensland)
Georgina Schoff KC (President, Victorian Bar)
Marcus Hassall (President, ACT Bar)

About the ABA

The Australian Bar Association is the peak body representing more than 7,000 barristers throughout Australia. Established in 1963, the ABA is committed to serving, promoting and representing its members, as well as advocating for fair and equal justice for all.

Media Enquiries


View the PDF here