ABA announces New President and Executive

23 November 2022

The Australian Bar Association has announced the election of its executive team for 2022–23.

Peter Dunning KC, former Solicitor-General for Queensland, has been elected President of the Australian Bar Association. Dominic Toomey SC, member of the Council and Executive of the NSW Bar Association and Roisin Annesley KC, former President of the Victorian Bar Association have been elected Vice Presidents, and Andrew Muller former President of the ACT Bar Association has been elected as Treasurer. Ian Robertson SC of the South Australian Bar Association will continue as Chair of the Advocacy Training Council.

Outgoing President Dr Matt Collins AM KC said, “It has been a privilege to lead the ABA over the past twelve months and to meet with so many hardworking barristers around the nation committed to furthering the fair and efficient administration of justice. I wish Peter and his team all the best for the year ahead.”

Incoming President Peter Dunning KC said, “It is a privilege and an honour, which I am humbled by, to have been elected President of the ABA. I wish to express my appreciation on behalf of barristers Australia wide for the deft and skilful leadership of the outgoing President of the ABA, Dr Matt Collins AM KC. Matt provided great leadership and foresight in guiding the bars through the aftermath of the pandemic and return to full time, conventional legal practice.

“In 2023, I look forward to promoting the critical skills and talents of the more than 6,000 barristers Australia wide who, in every state and territory are an essential part of the legal architecture in Australia for the sustenance of the rule of law.

“I intend to build on the work this year of the ABA council in the enhancement of professional standards for barristers, fostering a collegiate, inclusive and diverse national profession and publicly advocating for the importance of an independent judiciary.

“The ABA will have important contributions to make to the national debate around the National Anti-Corruption Commission, and other matters of national concern.”

The non-executive members of the ABA Council for 2022-23 are:

Gaby Bashir SC (President, NSW Bar Association)
Duncan McConnel SC (President, NT Bar Association)
Mark Hoffmann KC (Director, Sth Australian Bar Association)
Brahma Dharmananda SC (President, WA Bar Association)
Phillip Zeeman (President, Tasmanian Bar Association)
Damien O’Brien KC (President, Bar Association of Queensland)
Sam Hay KC (President, Victorian Bar)
Rebecca Curran (President, ACT Bar)

About the ABA

The Australian Bar Association is the peak body representing more than 6,000 barristers throughout Australia. Established in 1963, the ABA is committed to serving, promoting and representing its members, as well as advocating for fair and equal justice for all.

Media Enquiries

Email media@austbar.asn.au 

View the PDF here