ABA Council

2021 Office Holders

ABA Council

The Australian Bar Association is governed by a Council consisting of office bearers who are elected annually and one representative appointed by each of the State Bar Associations.

Directors and Office Bearers


Matthew Howard SC
Previous Past President, The Western Australian Bar


Kylie Nomchong SC


Matt Collins AM QC
Previous Past President, The Victorian Bar


Peter Dunning QC

Chair, Advocacy Training Council

Ian Robertson SC

Constituent Body Representatives

ACT Bar representative

Andrew Muller
President, Australian Capital Territory Bar Association

NSW Bar representative

Michael McHugh SC
President, New South Wales Bar Association

NT Bar representative

Duncan McConnel
President, Northern Territory Bar Association

QLD Bar representative

Rebecca Treston QC

SA Bar representative

Mark Hoffmann QC
President, South Australian Bar Association

TAS Bar representative

Phillip Zeeman
President, The Tasmanian Bar

VIC Bar representative

Christopher Blanden QC
President, Victorian Bar Association

WA Bar representative

Martin Cuerden SC
President, Western Australian Bar Association

Chief Executive Officer

Greg Tolhurst

Company Secretary

Alastair McConnachie

IT Manager

Matthew Vickers