ABA announces New Executive Team

24 November 2021

The Australian Bar Association has announced the election of its executive team for 2021–22.

Dr Matt Collins AM QC, a former president of the Victorian Bar, has been elected President of the ABA. He is joined by Peter Dunning QC, a former President of the Bar Association of Queensland and Solicitor-General for Queensland, and Michael McHugh SC, the President of the New South Wales Bar Association, as Vice-Presidents. The President of the ACT Bar Association, Andrew Muller, will serve as Treasurer. Ian Robertson SC of the South Australian Bar Association will continue as Chair of the Advocacy Training Council.

Dr Collins said, ‘It is an honour to have been elected President of the ABA. I pay tribute to outgoing President, Matthew Howard SC, who has skilfully led the profession through two of the most challenging years in memory, during which the justice system and legal profession have had to adapt to lockdowns, working from home, and the suspension of jury and in-person trials in much of the country. Matt’s leadership during this difficult period has been admired throughout the whole of the sector.

‘As we look forward to a brighter 2022, there is much to be done in promoting the indispensability of Australia’s 6,000-plus barristers to the administration of justice. Barristers play a critical role in safeguarding the rule of law by ensuring that Australians have access to fearless and independent representation before the nation’s courts and tribunals. The ABA’s Council has adopted an ambitious program for the year ahead, prioritising enhanced professional standards for barristers; fostering a collegiate, inclusive and diverse national profession; and advocating publicly for the importance of an independent judiciary and legal profession dedicated to the service of the Australian people.’

The non-executive members of the ABA Council for 2021–22 are:

Anna Mitchelmore SC (Vice-President, NSW Bar Association)
Duncan McConnel SC (President, NT Bar Association)
Mark Hoffmann QC (President, SA Bar Association)
Martin Cuerden SC (President, WA Bar Association)
Phillip Zeeman (President, Tasmanian Bar Association)
Tom Sullivan QC (President, Bar Association of Queensland)
Róisín Annesley QC (President, Victorian Bar)
Andrew Muller (President, ACT Bar)

About the ABA

The Australian Bar Association is the peak body representing more than 6,000 barristers throughout Australia. Established in 1963, the ABA is committed to serving, promoting and representing its members, as well as advocating for fair and equal justice for all.

Media Enquiries

Email media@austbar.asn.au or call Greg Tolhurst on 0406 040 683.

View the PDF here